top of page
  • Writer's picturemisskleber

The 5th Wave – Rick Yancey (2013)


Well this wasn’t terrible.


The weave was actually pretty good, but again chronically it would seem, parents can’t go on adventures.


The 5th Wave actually felt a lot like a cross between Terminator and The Road, but for a younger demographic. Reader beware, if you thought The Hunger Games was graphic, this book is not for you.


I saw a review that stated The 5th Wave

should do for aliens what Twilight did for vampires.

Ouch!


I’m actually not sure that’s a compliment. In fact I’m pretty sure it might be an insult.


Sorry Rick Yancey, you might not be my top YRCA pick, but I won’t do you the dishonour of comparing you to Twilight


That being said I liked the idea of an alien invasion happening in waves:

1st Wave: Power gets knocked out, global EMP. 2nd Wave: Natural Disasters, Earthquakes, Tsunamis, the coastal cities wipes off the map. 3rd Wave: A virus delivered by all the birds on the planet. 4th Wave: Sleeper agents. Aliens in Human suits.  

5th Wave: Like I’m actually going to tell you, it’s surprisingly not good.


The foot soldiers only land once the population is so decimated as to pose a minimal threat to your troops. I appreciate the amount of Art of War in this book.


Something else I appreciated in The 5th Wave, again not unlike The Hunger Games, I don’t believe that Cassie Sullivan is supposed to be particularly sympathetic. I don’t particularly like her, nor do I feel like I’m being manipulated into liking her. And again, not unlike Katness, she is on her quest to save a sibling.


You Might Also Like:

  • The Maze Runner – James Dashner

  • Gone – Michael Grant

  • The Terminator Omnibus, Vol. 1 – James Robinson and John Arcudi

G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books, May 2013 512 pages ISBN: 9780142425831 Suggested Reading Level: Grade 9+



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page